menu
Select a location

Brook Cottage Pet-Friendly Cottage in Baslow, Derbyshire

448
  • £
  • $
per week
sleeps 6
3 rooms
1 bathroom

Brook Cottage Pet-Friendly Cottage description

Holiday home
This beautiful stone terraced cottage is in the old part of Baslow, just yards from the entrance to the Chatsworth estate. The cottage dates back to about 1750 and is a stunning property that has been lovingly restored, retaining many original features such as staircases, beams, vaulted ceilings and exposed stonework, making a it characterful property in which to stay. There are three floors to be enjoyed; the kitchen is delightful with its stable door to the rear garden and the dining area is in this room. The cosy, comfortable sitting room houses an open fire, a perfect spot to relax in. There are three charming and elegant bedrooms and a sumptuous bathroom. This idyllic cottage makes a fabulous base to explore the wonderful Peak District.

Area
The picturesque village of Baslow is situated at the North end of Chatsworth House and the village has some unusual and striking features, not least, a river bridge that has three arches and is guarded by a toll house with diminutive measurements of only three and a half feet high. The village has a range of shops, restaurants and pubs and is only five miles from Bakewell, which has a further range of amenities and attractions. Chatsworth House and Park offer an array of attractions, with five gift shops, a farm shop, a garden centre and many fine places to eat as well as the house and park grounds to view. With so much to do and see, Baslow is the perfect holiday base to explore this part of the country.

Region
The ultimate in "year-round" appeal, the Peak District offers countryside, picturesque villages and magnificent scenery. It touches upon six counties and encloses 555 square miles of open moorland, flowing rivers, and wooded dales.

Amenities
Gas central heating with open fire. Electric cooker, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, TV, DVD, library of books. Fuel, power and starter pack of fuel for open fire inc. in rent. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent. Cot and highchair. Roadside parking for 1 car, additional parking in municipal car park approx. 50m from property. Small rear courtyard with furniture. One well-behaved dog welcome. Sorry, no smoking. Shop and pub 1 min walk. Note: Steep cottage stairs, please take care.

Amenities

  • Accepts Pets
  • Cooker
  • Cots
  • Fridge
  • Garden
  • High chair
  • Kettle
  • Linen provided
  • Log fire
  • Towels provided
  • TV
  • Washing machine
  • Near pub

Booking Request

Check availability / Book online
Sykes Cottages
  • Safe and secure instant booking online
  • Best price guaranteed on all our properties
  • Book direct with owner or managing agent
Request to Book

Reviews

Ms Howlett
January 2016
The cottage was everything we hoped it would be and we had a fantastic time. It is perfectly situated and in walking distance of shops, restaurants and, best of all, Chatsworth Estate. I would definitely recommend it!
Mr Corr
March 2016
Brook Cottage is a lovely, cozy cottage and the open fire was particularly nice.
Mrs McEwan
April 2015
Location; so easy to walk to Chatsworth from the cottage without road interference. Locality of pubs, cafe etc. were very useful. A lovely cottage in a lovely area.
Mr Brown
December 2014
The open fire was delightful, as was the proximity to Bakewell.
Mrs Cook
December 2014
A beautiful little cottage in a great location. The cottage was small but very quaint with great furnishings and everything we needed for our stay including an open log fire. The pub next door was really nice and access across the road to Chatsworth was ideal for a morning walk. The holiday was perfect.
Ms Carter
July 2014
Beautiful cottage in a stunning location.
Mr Stewart
January 2014
Quaint cottage which fitted the bill admirably. Close to Chatsworth, which was a bonus. Also close to Bakewell and other places to visit. The open fire reminded us of family holidays on the farm in New Zealand. The ability to self-cater was great as we took turns to provide the evening meal, which made for a lot of fun. The whole holiday was grand.
Mrs Manns
July 2014
A very relaxing and welcoming cottage, a peaceful stay and very nice walks.
Mr Howells
July 2013
A lovely little cottage in a lovely location.
Mr Tampiyappa
December 2013
Quaint, lovely, cosy house very warm in winter. Amazingly situated behind Chatsworth in a quiet cul-de-sac.
Mrs Cosby
April 2013
This was a lovely cottage, it had everything you needed. We all had a great time!
Mrs Westacott
October 2013
Excellent location. Really pretty decoration.
Dr Tait
February 2013
Brilliant location and a lovely cottage.
Mrs Ibrahim
February 2013
Great location, good price, sweet little cottage. Very nice touch leaving a welcome bottle of wine on kitchen table.
Mr Hams
March 2013
A good central base for the area, very close to Chatsworth which was the main reason for out visit!
Mrs Boiling
October 2012
The location of the cottage was excellent, right on the doorstep of Chatsworth and next door to a good pub. We could go for walks as a family without driving anywhere first, which proved very relaxing. The open fire was a big plus.
Mrs Everhardus
July 2012
We particularly liked the location and the decor of the cottage.
Mrs Hargreaves
November 2012
A delightfully quaint cottage. Location excellent. Loads of walks. Plenty of good eating places nearby. Relaxing. Would definitely visit again.
Mrs Willerton
July 2012
Brook cottage is a very comfortable and cosy cottage in a fabulous location. Being about to walk into the grounds of Chatsworth is a massive plus side of this cottage.
Miss Alexander
April 2011
The cottage was situated right next to the entrance for the grounds of Chatsworth, which was fantastic for walking my dog in the morning and at night.
Ms Johnson
September 2011
Really lovely location and the house was cute and interesting. Had everything we needed and two good pubs within walking distance.
Mr Emeny
August 2011
The cottage is a really good place to stay for a week and made an excellent walking base. The location is brilliant! This was the first holiday we have taken with a dog, and it was ideal - the mutt loved it.
Mr Newton
December 2011
We had a great time. Loved the open fire in the living room and general cosiness of the property. Great location with pubs/shop nearby and Chatsworth on the doorstep.
Mr Flint
July 2012
Cottage was in a pefect location for Chatsworth. Local footpath walks were good too. A good variety of local eating places. The bedrooms and bathroom were spacious, clean and comfortable.
Mrs Keeley
March 2012
It was a perfect location for us with Chatsworth Park just over the road and plenty of good walking nearby.
Mr Nixon
October 2010
A DREAM vacation! Weather great, accommodation great, food superb. Exactly what we were hoping for! Would definitely book Brook Cottage or something like it in the area again. Bakewell and Baslow utterly charming. Very, very pleased.
Mrs Brown
August 2010
Character and furnishings and situation were lovely. We would be happy to visit again if there were just the two of us!
Ms Ford
July 2010
The house location was brilliant. The village of Baslow has nice cafes, pubs, restaurants to eat. Lovely walks around Chatsworth estate etc.
Miss Bugby
August 2010
The location was fantastic and the cottage felt very homely
Mrs Frame
September 2010
The location of the cottage was excellent and the shower was good with plenty of hot water. The heating ensured that the cottage was always at a comfortable temperature.
Miss Ward
November 2009
The cottage is in a lovely location. Excellent for exploring the Peaks. Very cosy. Nearby pubs serving good food.
Miss Miskimin
December 2009
Very clean. High quality furniture. Beautifully maintained and very cosy.
Mr Worthington
April 2010
Excellent location for walks and attractions. The cottage was very well presented, with great taste in its decoration. The beds and linen were good quality and made you feel quite at home. The bathroom is really well equipped with a great shower. The open fire is a real feature of the cottage and on a few cold nights we welcomed a fire after a long cold walk.
Mr Sykes
January 2010
Great place and the owner was very helpful in our hour of need during heavy snowfall. This cottage is ideal for a small family/group. Great furniture and decor throughout and lovely and warm if required. Great location and spectacular views just minutes down the road in any direction. The nearest pub is not very good but the next one along just a few yards down the road is nice.
Mr Atkinson
September 2009
The location of the cottage was very good especially for access to Chatsworth and the surrounding area.
Mr Downton
March 2010
The location of the cottage. Relaxing atmosphere. Good area with plenty of sites to visit and good food. Would particularly recommend Fischers. The cottage had 3 good size bedrooms and a very good bathroom.
Mrs Wilkinson
February 2009
The cottage was very conveniently placed for a great many attractions.
Ms Mulrooney
April 2009
The cottage is beautiful, it has been thoughtfully decorated and is in such a beautiful location. It was an ideal base or touring round the Peak District.
Mrs Downey
August 2009
This beautiful cottage, set in the friendly village of Baslow, was perfectly located on the edge of the Chatsworth Estate. The house and gardens were within walking distance from the cottage through the beautiful grounds. Two good pubs on the doorstep, Devonshire Arms and The Wheatsheaf with good food and friendly service.
Miss Belletty
August 2009
The location of the cottage was good, with the open land which leads to Chatsworth House just opposite. The quiet was lovely to enable relaxation. It felt very homely and I would definitely visit again.
Dr Spencer
November 2008
Fabulous property. Really comfortable and great location. Lovely village.
Mrs Benham
April 2009
Great location, very quaint cottage, thoughtfully decorated and furnished.
jcorr2016
March 2016
Went for a long weekend with friends - very relaxing and peaceful! Lovely location, perfect for Chatsworth, and great restaurants nearby. It was a bit of a squeeze for 6 but we managed and no-one seemed to mind. Couldn't bring the dogs this time and probably a good plan as there certainly wouldn't have been enough room!!! Warm and cosy particularly with the fire going and very comfy beds
MelW04
August 2016
This cottage is quaint but sadly for it, it has not had any maintenance and is very grubby and tired. The cords on the lights and blinds are filthy, doorknobs are grubby and paint worn away, we had to spray bleach on the mould in the shower and it stayed ingrained in the silicon seal, the vinyl floor in bathroom is yellowed and coming up, carpets upstairs are dirty, kitchen laminate top is badly chipped and hob is grubby, living room furnishings smell of open fire. It had been cleaned to a basic level and all the bedding was fine. The two bedrooms in the attic space were the nicest space in the cottage and our two kids enjoyed their rooms. However, there was no blind on the velux in one window which wasn't great for summer. The stable door in the kitchen was lovely to have open, which we needed to because of the smell downstairs. The village and location cannot be faulted. 20-30 minute walk to Chatsworth House, 10-20 minute drives to Bakewell and Buxton which are as lovely as Baslow and many other villages in the area. Shop and eateries are handy to the cottage, all within 5 minute walk; the kids loved the sweet shop just across the road and the two pubs and Italian restaurant served lovely food.
M1keJames
April 2014
Firstly Brook cottage is in a great location and excellently placed for walking into Chatsworth and exploring the Peak District. The house itself is advertised for 6 people, although the bedrooms will accommodate six the living and kitchen space on the ground floor is very small and cannot accommodate 6 people watching TV or sitting down for a meal. In addition to the space issue there was a real musty smell in the living and kitchen space, this may have been that the house had been locked up for a while but the smell stayed with us for the 3 days I feel badly let down by Sykes Cottages (who have received an excellence award from Trip Advisor), and their grading system. My mother who came with us did contact them to highlight our concerns. Sykes confirmed that they would take our concerns to the owner and come back to us with a response. Four weeks later and we have heard nothing!
DotFens
March 2015
We stayed in March. The weather varied from gloriously warm and sunny to a small amount of snow, and the heating tried hard and usually won. However, some practical improvements, like draughtproofing or curtains over the doors would help more, as would towel rails. The dog loved it, and for 2 people it was fine, but living and eating space for the whole 6 people for whom there were beds would be seriously squashed. There are excellent places to eat within close walking distance, there are many buses which stop close by, and the position close to the path to the park, with sheep, deer and magnificent views, was truly lovely. Beware - stairs really are steep.
Sue W
December 2014
Down stairs too small to accommodate 6 around table and comfortably sit in the living room furnishing inadequate and tired back yard not ptivate and unkempt Misleading promotion of this property pleasant area Will not book with sykes again
frontdoor1
January 2015
Please read all of the real reviews before booking! the beds are homemade thick planks of wood resting on a bed frame, will make this the worst nights sleep you will ever have. The kitchen cooking utensils were dirty and not enough equipment, only one cooking dish. There wasn't even a large serving spoon. Used and old sponge left to clean up and chipped cheap mugs.The fire churned out smoke, I asked Sykes to ask the owner if it had been swept and to make sure that the next guest wasn't affected by it as my daughter was very ill. the chairs in the kitchen are broken and food slides off the sloping table. All of this make the cottage a two star property, so it is immoral that the owner sees fit to advertise it as 5 star simply because of the location. We stayed two of the seven nights as it was unbearable. Please read all the reviews, the good reviews can not be legitimate because they contradict the real ones. We have been away at new year every year fro 20 years, this is my first bad review. The area is lovely, local pub nice.
mrskimcook
December 2014
We loved our stay at Brook cottage which is a small but quaint cottage with lovely furnishings and in a great location. 6 of us stayed here for a friends birthday, the bedrooms and bathrooms were perfect and the kitchen had everything we needed The lounge and the kitchen dining are were very small but we ate out at the pub next door so this wasn't a problem for us As a location, the cottage is perfect, right opposite a walk into Chatsworth estate which takes about 20 minutes If you planned to stay in then I would recommend it as more suitable for 4 people so that you could all sit in the lounge but if you wanted to use the cottage as a base then its perfect
Guest
January 2014
Really lovely cottage, beautifully decorated. Very comfortable beds. Location is really excellent - in the heart of Baslow and just around the corner from the pedestrian entrance to Chatsworth. Our only (slight) complaint is that you could not sit six adults at the table in the kitchen.
June186233
February 2014
Myself, husband and dog, stayed here for 3 nights in February The cottage is charming and cosy. It was very very cold outside, but the cottage, was wonderfully warm and had a lovely open fire, but we we did not need to use. Really big bathroom and nice bath, to soak in after long walks in derbyshire The location is brilliant, 2 mins walk into the grounds of Chatsworth House park and 10 steps to The Devonshire Arms, nice ambience and staff here, they allow dogs in one area. The food was very good and the veggie options were excellent, we ate here 3 nights The cottage has quite steep internal stairs, with a door leading from the lounge to them, but we did not have any problem with them at all. We look forward to a return stay here, in this cosy cottage.... Thanks
Holly100000
April 2014
Our family of three rented this cottage for a week in April. The best thing about the cottage is its close proximity to the footpath into the Chatsworth Estate. The cottage is very close to the main road but is situated on a lane with no through traffic. We used to see a couple of ducks waddling down the lane each night! Throughout our stay there was a bad smell in the cottage- drains? We had to go out and buy air freshner but could still smell it. Sykes advertise the cottage as sleeping 6. It does but there are only 5 seats in the living room and we had a job to fit 3 round the kitchen table. There is a large bathroom but not enough space to hang wet towels and a broken light bulb over the basin and mirror. Hot tap in basin swung round when you used it. Bedrooms a good size but no hanging space in 2nd floor twin. Double bed on 2 nd floor VERY uncomfortable- you could feel every spring. Most of furniture is painted and looks scruffy as chipped with ring marks etc. No DVD player despite Sykes saying this was included. There is an old washing machine but no tumble dryer or washing line. Garden is a dark back yard with shared access with neighbours. It is a quaint cottage but certainly not up to the size or standard that we expected from reading the Sykes website.
loveroftravel52
September 2012
We feel badly let down by Sykes Cottages (who have received an excellence award from Trip Advisor), and their grading system. This small cottage was graded as five ticks and said to be first-class and luxurious but it is none of these things. Beware photographs maximising a property's appeal. We have complained to Sykes who say that they agree the grading with the owner(!), and that they are impartial between the owners and the customer. We didn't feel that they accepted any responsibility for the way a property is advertised, and ask how can they be impartial when they receive commission for listing it? Brook Cottage needs to be redecorated and refurbished, and the double-bed mattresses are very uncomfortable to say the least - I still have back pain over six weeks later. The owner, of course, didn't accept our complaints and said the beds were of differing firmness and no springs were broken. It is true the springs to the double mattresses were not broken but you could certainly feel them as there was insufficient padding on both. We are world travelled and have slept on a variety of mattresses before without problems. Things were so bad that after suffering for three nights we went into Chesterfield to buy a topper, which we did not need at our own home. Only the two single beds were comfortable, in what is basically a children's room. As far as the furnishings and decoration of the property was concerned, the owner replied that it was done in the "distressed" style, and we have to agree that he has over-achieved in this area because, in our opinion, this property is not "shabby chic" just shabby. There was one small mirror between the three bedrooms, so we had to take it in turns to borrow it. There is a photograph, accompanying a review last year, of the edging to the work surfaces in the kitchen having peeled away exposing the chipboard . Nothing has been done about this and it is now worse with wear and tear. We had to suffer a running tap in the kitchen for 24 hours, after arrival, before it was repaired but we accept that is something which can happen to anybody. There was a large, messy, repair to the kitchen wall which had not been re-decorated. It was also impossible to move around the kitchen table when it was extended to accommodate five of us, and it was a real squeeze sitting down to eat together. The property is excellently placed for walking into Chatsworth and is in a lovely village. However, the courtyard is noisy from the nearby main road, and overlooked by several properties. It is full of weeds and half-dead plants and had a view of inadequately screened wheelie bins and an open re-cycling bin full of the last tenant's rubbish. The owner blamed its state on not being able to clear it due to the awful weather this summer. I note that a review from last year also mentioned the poor condition of the courtyard so this is not a new problem. The shower in the large bathroom is excellent but the heavy door easily came off its hinges - not good with children in the party. The grouting around the base needed replacing and there was another, undecorated, patch repair on the wall (apparently a previous tenant had allowed the shower to overflow). However, the towels were of superb quality. The sitting room was not five ticks in comfort or decoration but it did have character and a lovely fireplace. Sykes reply to us was unsatisfactory because, although told of our bad experience, they would make no promise to re-inspect this property or to lower its grading if the owner did not bring it up to five ticks standard. However, even a one-star property should have comfortable beds. We are left wondering how can we book the right property for our requirements if we can't rely on it being accurately graded or described on Sykes website or even on the Trip Advisor site. Most of the reviews on Trip Advisor (old ones - none this year last time I looked) were positive and only a couple were "telling it like it is". Normally I take the overall view but, in future, I will take much more notice of negative reviews (even if they are in the minority) because they are the only ones which turned out to reflect the true situation we found. You wonder what the positive reviewers are comparing the property to - certainly not five ticks luxury. Our experience of Sykes makes us wonder how they have achieved a glowing recommendation by Trip Advisor. Loveroftravel52,
Guest
October 2011
Brook Cottage is brilliantly located for walking access to Chatsworth Park and many excellent walks into the Peak District. There are a few shops nearby and several good restaurants, including the brilliant, Michelin starred Fishers, which we visited for lunch. The cottage is small, and really can only comfortably accommodate four people. It is well equipped with a nice little yard at the back, where our dog was happy to lurk. Beds are reasonably comfortable, but not anything to write home about. Parking was not a problem, as there are spots on a private road that we used. Overall, I'd recommend this cottage for its location and value for money. We had a great week there.
mariabontoft
October 2011
I would like to say what a great time myself, friends and family had whilst staying here recently. Considering i had never booked a trip before, and was concerned that 5 19-23 year olds staying for two of the three nights was not the most appealing prospect for any cottage owners, i was pleasantly surprised it was a no-questioned-asked/non-judgmental booking procedure. i found it extremely straightforward to book our stay and the owners of the cottage were quick to respond with my check-in/check-out questions and their responses were very friendly and welcoming too. The check-in/check-out procedure couldn't possibly have been any simpler! First impressions on entering the cottage, it was like a home from home, instantly putting all at ease and just as it looks in the pictures. The things which made our stay particularly memorable; the big open fireplace which really kicked out some warmth; ease of cooking due to the good straightforward appliances and complete range of crockery and utensils; the spaciousness of bedrooms, super fresh bed linen and large thick towels; and the lovely powerful shower, great for revitalizing walkers and fending off muscle aches! This cottage was loved as a place for friends, and later too as a place for family. Managed somehow to do the impossible - please both teenagers and (infamously fussy) 60 year olds! I would also like to add , having read a number of reviews on here, there are a couple of things i feel have been put across unfairly - arguably, the sitting room was just the right size for 5 adults, perhaps not quite 6, but considering the Baslow area provides such a great opportunity for getting out and exploring, weather permitting, it should hardly be a problem. The smaller size of the sitting room came more as a benefit to our party as with the open fire it warmed up immediately and made for an extremely cosy evening after a long days walk. The kitchen was fully equipped with every kind of utensil needed to make just about anything, and of perfectly good quality considering their constant use by holiday makers!
Kimberleytrio
August 2011
Location of this cottage very nice close proximity to Chatsworth Estate,local shop,tea room,and pubs,our first impressions of the cottage were very good from the outside although on entering we were shocked at the overall size of the living area as it advertised as accommodating six people. However the downstairs of the cottage was nothing other than very dirty,with poor decor, the Kitchen floor and cupboards were filthy as was the sink we had to set about a spring clean before we could even start to unpack, didn't have a broom,mop, hoover etc. Kettle leaked and worryingly the boiler in utility room was very low and had exposed wires which if I had taken children would of been of great concern. The outside courtyard area was untidy and badly maintained dead plants, empty pots and overgrown with weeds. I think the biggest disappointment was how this cottage is advertised via letting agent as 5 ticks/star which they say is "A little bit of luxury" which is certainly not the case.
Guest
February 2011
Not entirely suitable for small children! The tiled floors were lovely, as were the period stairs, but my toddler didn't really share my appreciation. Very small for the number of us that went but really comfortable nonetheless. Has all the 'bits and bobs' that you would think of taking which would have saved me a lot of hassle packing if I had known. Would definitely go again but perhaps in the summer when we could enjoy its location more full. Far too cold to leave!!
JHG192
June 2011
Having used self catering cottages for over 30yrs I feel able to make fair judgement. This cottage is overated and definately not 5 ticks [star] or suitable for more than 3/4 persons. Yes 6 people can sleep there but not live. The lounge which you enter from the street is woefully short on space. It is physically not possible for number advertised to sit in any form of comfort in this room. The furniture is backless, basic Ikea and very uncomfortable. The television is even more basic almost toy-like. There is no radio, no dvds, the informational reading material is from last year and the paperbacks are dogeared. Two old packs of cards left in empty drawer. Likewise the kitchen has the same accommodation issues. 4 Maximum and thats tight. If the table is expanded it tips up when any physical weight placed on it. The unitensils again basic [Ikea] the cups are minuscule likewise the frying pan. There are no untensiles to remove food from cooking facilitaties. Fridge again very small. No dishwasher, 3 pegs, no washing line despite having hooks. Courtyard utilized for dustbin area with through access from adjoining property thereby overlooked by a least 4 properties. Totaly unkempt and of no useful purpose whatsoever except for the purpose it was designed [to hang washing out]. With no dryer either, what is the point of installing a washing machine. Upto 6 persons dirty washing has to be brought home! No welcome pack or meaniful guidelines. Upstairs bathroom one redeaming feature though short on equipment and cleaning products.Ist double bedroom [really a single] no room to even walk around the bed, one bedside cabinet [what about the other person] no storeage space, no chair or suitable mirror [we are talking 5 ticks]. Poor decoration. 2/3 bedrooms, again no mirrors and poor decoration. This property relies totally on its location and fron facade. It is at most suitable for 4 persons and only of 3 tick quality. Adjoining property much larger, better equipped and far better value and rightly rated at 3 ticks.
the H families
February 2010
Very quaint and comfortable cottage in a perfect location for walking and photography.
Guest
March 2010
What can I say other than we had a great time. When we arrived it wa thick snow and there had been lots of snow all over the country. There was a problem withthe water initially but that soon, almost magically, put itself right and we had a great time. 5 of us squeezed in here (4 adults and a baby) and we managed just fine for the 3 nights we were there but I'd suggest a maximum group of 4 adults really due to the size of the cottage. It's a great little place and the owners were very helpful. It has all the kitchen equipment you will ever need and I imagine it's a fantastic place to stay mid-summer as it is litterally next door to the Chatsworth House grounds and in the middle of most of the tourist attractions the peaks have to offer. A couple of pubs very nearby. the closest one was a little poor (Devonshire Arms I think!) so perhaps investigate before you settle down for a drink. If you like charm and character then this is the place for you.
Guest
September 2010
Beautiful location, great for visiting Sheffield and the Peak District. Baslow is a lovely place with some nice local cafes and restaurants. The house has enough bedrooms for six people, but the downstairs is very small. We were a group of four adults. There was only just enough seating and space downstairs, but you were not particularly comfortable.
Guest
September 2010
The cottage exceeded expectations in many ways, the furnishings were lovely and beds very comfortable. The location of the cottage allowed us to spend some memorable mornings walking the dog in the beautiful Chatsworth estate. The living and kitchen area was very compact, as a party of six adults we would have struggled to spend time and eat as a group in the property if we weren't blessed with good weather and able to utilise the courtyard at the rear of the property. Overall all members of the group had a great week staying at Brook Cottage and exploring the beautiful villages and countryside surrounding it.
GinnyLiz
December 2009
We were delighted with the location of the cottage, which was on the edge of the Chatsworth Estate, had a bus stop on the doorstep and was within easy reach of Chesterfield as well as many places to visit. The cottage itself was charming, beautifully decorated & furnished and well-equipped. The only downsides would be the size of the lounge (the five of us, with six at the weekend, didn't spend too much time indoors so it didn't prove to be a problem) and the steep stairs for my mum who's in her late 70's. The local people were extremely friendly and helpful. A choice of four pubs within easy walking distance -- we're talking minutes! We loved everything about our holiday except the weather as it rained 13 days out of 14 .... but not alot can be done about that ... we still had a fab time. Best regards
mariabontoft
October 2011
I would like to say what a great time myself, friends and family had whilst staying here recently. Considering i had never booked a trip before, and was concerned that 5 19-23 year olds staying for two of the three nights was not the most appealing prospect for any cottage owners, i was pleasantly surprised it was a no-questioned-asked/non-judgmental booking procedure. i found it extremely straightforward to book our stay and the owners of the cottage were quick to respond with my check-in/check-out questions and their responses were very friendly and welcoming too. The check-in/check-out procedure couldn't possibly have been any simpler! First impressions on entering the cottage, it was like a home from home, instantly putting all at ease and just as it looks in the pictures. The things which made our stay particularly memorable; the big open fireplace which really kicked out some warmth; ease of cooking due to the good straightforward appliances and complete range of crockery and utensils; the spaciousness of bedrooms, super fresh bed linen and large thick towels; and the lovely powerful shower, great for revitalizing walkers and fending off muscle aches! This cottage was loved as a place for friends, and later too as a place for family. Managed somehow to do the impossible - please both teenagers and (infamously fussy) 60 year olds! I would also like to add , having read a number of reviews on here, there are a couple of things i feel have been put across unfairly - arguably, the sitting room was just the right size for 5 adults, perhaps not quite 6, but considering the Baslow area provides such a great opportunity for getting out and exploring, weather permitting, it should hardly be a problem. The smaller size of the sitting room came more as a benefit to our party as with the open fire it warmed up immediately and made for an extremely cosy evening after a long days walk. The kitchen was fully equipped with every kind of utensil needed to make just about anything, and of perfectly good quality considering their constant use by holiday makers!
June186233
February 2014
Myself, husband and dog, stayed here for 3 nights in February The cottage is charming and cosy. It was very very cold outside, but the cottage, was wonderfully warm and had a lovely open fire, but we we did not need to use. Really big bathroom and nice bath, to soak in after long walks in derbyshire The location is brilliant, 2 mins walk into the grounds of Chatsworth House park and 10 steps to The Devonshire arms, nice ambience and staff here, they allow dogs in one area. The food was very good and the veggie options were excellent, we ate here 3 nights The cottage has quite steep internal stairs, with a door leading from the lounge to them, but we did not have any problem with them at all. We look forward to a return stay here, in this cosy cottage... Thanks
Tell us about your rental experience while staying at Brook Cottage Pet-Friendly Cottage. Let us know if the listing matched your expectations. You can share your comments about the location, property owner/manager and all the unique features that made your stay a memorable one.
With cookies we can give you the best experience on selfcatering.travel. By using our website, you consent to the use of cookies.