The Captain’s House lies at the northern end of a row of stone cottages, originally built for the HM Coastguards, on a slight rise and overlooking the lighthouse some 500 yards away. The cottage has been lovingly restored and is full of glorious books from the era, as well as shipwreck and fascinating marine memorabilia, ensuring guests have a comfortable, relaxing holiday and providing the perfect place in which to unwind. It has a large granite cellar under the stairs, as well as a lower bathroom (unfortunately not accessible now for safety reasons), which was used for storing the more valuable items taken from wrecks, weapons, general supplies and, of course, rum. The Coastguards, as was British Naval tradition, would have been issued a daily tot of rum, with an extra ration during times of hardships such as a rescue from floundered vessels, or celebrations such as the monarch’s birthday. Until only a generation ago, the inhabitants of these cottages were the toughest of men with a very dangerous occupation. Most of them entered the Coastguards from the Royal Navy and the first postings for the period 1819-1866 can be traced in the parish, remembered to this day. The Captain’s House has been restored with the objective of retaining as much of its original character as possible including the original fireplaces (with their naval anchor logos), and the many nautical artefacts that reflect its history and the personalities of its earlier residents.
When enjoying a good glass of wine and maybe admiring a lovely sunset, or watching high seas on a stormy winter’s evening, give a thought to the brave men who were hugely interesting and larger-than-life personalities who resided here.
The Captains House is perfectly located for exploring the far west, including nearby Cape Cornwall and ‘Poldark Country’. The local Crown Mines at Botallack (a World Heritage Site) and the film location used for the TV series Poldark is visible from the cottage. The scenic coastal road from Pendeen to St Ives was voted one of the most stunning drives in Europe, wending its way across heatherclad coastal moorland and passing Gurnicks Head - site of many shipwrecks, and the renowned pub and restaurant. Visit the quaint village of Zennor, home of the famous Mermaid of Zennor; St Just with its busy square, four pubs, art and craft shops, tea rooms, butchers, bakers and post office; the stunning white sand beach at Sennen, popular with surfers, or legendary Lands End, with its endless coastal walks.
The area attracts guests interested in history, wildlife enthusiasts, bird watchers, walkers, surfers or those simply looking to relax in one of Cornwall’s most beautiful, unspoilt locations. Shop, pubs and restaurant 1 mile.
Hallway with flagstone floor. Spacious open-plan living/dining room/conservatory with wooden floor, bifold doors to garden, and well-equipped kitchen area with wooden floor. Study. Shower room with original stone floor and toilet. Original turning staircase to first floor: Three double bedrooms: one with antique 5ft four-poster bed. Single bedroom. Bathroom with over-bath shower and toilet. Sea views from most rooms.
- Elec, full LPG CH, bed linen and towels inc
- 50" satellite TV (full package)
- Lawned front garden with patio
- Small enclosed rear patio with furniture
- Parking (for 3 cars)
- Welcome pack
- Pet free of charge
- No smoking